NOT SO DRY…..BONES

These dry bones in this castle of 53 years

warn me that I shouldn’t attempt that double pirouette

when my spine attempts to block, my mind tells it, “not yet”

I look at my teacher, an octogenarian of 85 years

She doesn’t look “no ways tired”

So I say, “Why the heck should I fear?”

There is a joy, an exuberance as I soar in the air

An unbelievable high… younger dancers stare.

The sweat just keeps pouring and I keep wiping my face.

Othella Dallas, our teacher,  bangs that African drum

and we keep keeping pace.

She prompts us, teases, commands, unleashes our queens

And when it’s all over and done

She asks me to sing.

And I raise my voice high

from a spiritual place,  it comes.

There is healing going on

As everyone in that room, becomes one.

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, Children, Contemplation, Creativity, Cultural Pride, Dance, Entrepreneur, health, humor, International Travel, Life Perspective, Music, Poetry and stories, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Unforgettable Teachers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NOT SO DRY…..BONES

  1. whenquiet says:

    Thank you notesfromrumbleycottage. I have often seen your comments via fp..I will check out your blog…then enjoy a soup, doctor my aching throat and head to zzzzzzz land…

  2. Never stop dancing.

  3. oh how I would love to be there!

  4. whenquiet says:

    Never never ever:-) Do you dance Trinity?

  5. whenquiet says:

    You would love it! Othella is awesome! And she sings jazz! Google Othella Dallas:-)

  6. I thought I had heard of her. I’ve listened to her before. She IS awesome.

  7. whenquiet says:

    I will definitely tell Othella about your comment. She will “love it¨! *She just dropped a new CD Free and Easy…I was honored to sing back up vocals.

Leave a Reply

