Phenomenal Woman

Dressed in white, her image, her wise words, penetrate my ears via you tube.

Just hearing her words, in her preacherlike cadence..the words of the poem “Phenomenal Woman” by Maya Angelou, makes me grab my heart.  I have listened and looked at her over and over on you tube since Easter, and am so proud! 

I phoned her the next day and told her that while listening to her deliver this particular poem on Easter morning, my back straightenened, my pulse increased, and goosebumps decorated both my arms.  You see, I am a Phenomenal Woman, and had to be reminded of that fact by my Mom, Sylvia Greene.   My Mom is a phenomenal woman.  This May she turns 76 and she is continuing to achieve, perform, create, fundraise, community organize, and inspire in North Carolina. 

The words registered in my head for the third time viewing of her rendition of Phenomenal Woman.

‘I am a phenomenal woman…it is in the arch of my back, it is in the click of my heels, when you see me walk by, you should be proud!'”

I am her seed.  I can’t be anything else less than phenomenal. 

When I watered my plants later in the day, I felt the heat of the sun penetrate the soreness of my lower back…my chest lifted.    When I cleaned the birdbath, I felt the chill of the water electrify my fingers. I felt like Cleopartra at the Nile.  The words echoed, “I am a phenomenal woman!”  I reflected on the past months and felt an intense pride in all that I had accomplished. I thought of our daughter, phoned her and told her how important it is for her to see her grandmother’s video.   I forwarded a link of my Mom’s you tube performance to all of my closest friends.

I immediately received a response from a friend, Barbara,  in Gelsenkirchen, Germany, who praised my Mom’s performance and commented on how she now knows from whence my strength comes.  Barbara has been inspired to reconnect with older friends in the States because of my Mom’s video. She has also been reminded of how important it is to remember the sacrifices of our ancestors, of the strength that flows through our veins, and of the will to persevere… in spite of. 

My Mom recently peformed Maya Angelou’s “Phenomenal Woman” at a Western Carolina  fundraiser for Bennet College.  Anyone who needs a lift, check out my Mom on you tube.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gKNSzPOlg0U+

Phenomenal!

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, Creativity, Cultural Pride, Entrepreneur, Life Perspective, mental health, Poetry and stories, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Unforgettable Teachers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Phenomenal Woman

  1. whenquiet says:

    I love you Mama! You are a phenomenal woman!

  2. That was beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  3. whenquiet says:

    Thank you Trinity.

  4. DellEra Anna says:

    I never tire of looking at my Mom recite this. Gives me so much strength: Thank you Mama!

Leave a Reply

