Enjoy(in joy)..the joy!!!

At Sunday service this morning, I arrived late. Just in time, however, to absorb the words of the pastor concerning remaining open to allow the gifts of the spirit to manifest to each on their spiritual journey.  I became slightly distracted by a man eagerly texting on his phone.  I wondered if he was texting down today’s selected chapters of the Bible or whether he was preoccupied in a business decision via sms.  His wife next to him seemed unperturbed. She appeared to be in the joy zone.   I reconcentrated on the words of the Pastor. My arms began to tingle and I knew that the Holy Spirit whispered.  The musical selection started, and I wanted to shout, yet held back.  Still, I tingled. 

Later in  the afternoon, my husband and I visited one of our favorite restaurants in the Bürchau village of the Black Forest.  The food is exquisite, the atmosphere genial, and the service, personable and homey.  Folk at two tables, (one to our left, and one behind us), constantly bickered about the slowness of the service and about the food.  I reflected on what the Pastor mentioned…. “`Allow God to move within you to reflect his grace.'”  My husband was becoming irritated about the complaints.

I said aloud, “Enjoy the joy!” 

We observed the beautiful view. Our food arrived..excellent as always…I ummmed and ahhhed.. As did my husband.  When the waitress asked how our food was I replied, “Sehr gut, wie immer!”(Very good as always).  I was still tingling.

The folk at both tables discontinued with the complaining.  They asked for the bill and left shortly afterwards.

Then my husband and I enjoyed two wonderful pieces of Schwardwald kuchen(black forest cake), mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

We watched the sun set, held hands, and basked in the joy.

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, International Travel, Life Perspective, mental health, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enjoy(in joy)..the joy!!!

  1. whenquiet says:

    Thanks Paula..Must look up “sacchariferous!”

  2. Well, I have enjoyed your joy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

