Serenity dipped Serendipity minus the peanut butter

One thing is certain.  Life throws curve balls but we can still hit a home run.

I had just finished preparing dinner last night and muffins for the next morning’s breakfast, and my husband came home, kaput,  ate, then announced, “Our customers(we have an Italian panini shop in Basel, Switzerland) want again soup!”  We had made minestrone and lauch/potato soup before to accompany the panini sandwiches and they were a hit.  So, without hesitation I, fatigued, worked some soup magic.  Following is the recipe:

Anna’s Mix  (I swear, by the spirit,  I added these ingredients)

1 package green linsen(lentils)(500 grams)

2-4 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/4 piece of Italian parmaschincken(prosciutto ham)–my husband’s contribution–

2-3 litres or more of prepared bouillon(veggie or meat flavor) 4-5 bouillon cubes submerged in boiling water.

Two red onions, minced

2-3 cloves garlic(crushed with garlic press)

3-4 stalks celery

5 scraped, chopped, then diced carrots

8-10 small red potatoes, chopped

Coriander(preferably fresh)

Red curry paste(2-3 Tablespoons)

1 small piece of South Italian hot pepper

Lemon pepper( 1 Tablespoon)

Turmeric (1/2 Tablespoon)

1/2 Tablespoon) Curry

Sea Salt and Jamie Oliver Pepper to Taste

2-3 Lorbeer (laurier)Leaves

1-2 Sage Leaves

Rinse lentils 3-4 times in cold water. Set aside.(If you have a problem with flatulence, soak lentils overnight in salted water).

Peel and dice onions, and unpeel and crush garlic.  Prepare potatoes and carrots(unpeel and dice.)

Sautèe onions and garlic in olive oil until onions are translucent.  Spice with salt, pepper, coriander, lemon pepper.  Add carrots, and potatoes, swish around, then add 1/2 liter bouillon.. Add celery, cook for three minutes more, then add lentils, then 1 more liter of bouillon.  Add the rest of the spices, then the parmaschincken(prosciutto ham), then 1 more liter water…then let simmer…Add red curry paste at last, followed by sage, lorbeer, the rest of the bouillon and whatever else is left:-)  *  I wanted to add Skippy Peanut Butter but my husband was not in agreement:-)

I served the soup today at our shop.  We sold all paninis and only two bowls of soup were left.  Our next door neighbor(in an adjacent shop) took the remaining two bowls of soup home…he will return my pot tomorrow.

I had so much fun today, hugged at least two of my customers, met a very interesting new customer, and gave everyone chocolate. Folk were happy, I was happy, and the entire shop tingled with love.

I am so grateful for the wonderful occurrences, people, and  experiences that come into my life…and I am so happy that the curve ball that I have been thrown is changing its angle and bringing me peace, love  and joy.  Next time, I add the peanut butter!!!

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in Entrepreneur, health, humor, International Travel, Life Perspective, mental health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Serenity dipped Serendipity minus the peanut butter

  1. Lovely post. One thing that will surely bring people together: Food! Gonna try this recipe for sure.

  2. whenquiet says:

    Thanks petalpusher. When I have time, I will activate the feature that exposes my recipes to more of the public. I enjoy sharing. When you try the recipe, let me know if you add the peanut butter:-).

  3. whenquiet says:

    Thanks Jakesprinter!

Leave a Reply

