King

Because of him folk began to see chocolate, pecan, chocolate, fudge,  caramel, chocolate,  cinnamon, and blackberry

As spices of equality.

Because of him, I saw the door of possibility open much wider than a crack.

Because of him, I realized that black and white could mesh together

if the naysayers would give some slack.

Because of him,

I attained my B.A. and M.A.(Performing Arts/Dance)

Because of him I understood education is the way.

Because of him

I cut through procrastination

and when I would fall, I would get right back up.

Because of him, I came to understand that preparation is more important than luck.

Thank you, Dr. Martin Luther King

for the inspiration and legacy

and for this accomplishment song I sing.

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, Childhood Reflections, Children, Contemplation, Cultural Pride, Dance, Life Perspective, Poetry and stories, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Unforgettable Teachers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to King

  1. This is good. Very good. The writing and the accomplishments. 🙂

  2. whenquiet says:

    Thanks apronsandappetites!!

  3. whenquiet says:

    Thanks Ziiplight!

Leave a Reply

