When Blood Bleeds

A village raises a child

Multitudes encourage a smile

yet, when isolated,

slashes of words

may cut long past the umbilical chord…….

Primeval surges reach back and tug

as devils are rampant and

thwart my hugs..

I hit my knees..cry out to God…  tears reach my ancestral tree

Skeletons long ashed, gather, reform, transform to bees.

Gathered clusters of colonies

Attack wintery evil ice

wolves clothed as lambs

pretend to be nice..

when blood bleeds
there lies a soul in need
a silent scream
rings
help me please

This time my child will not be the sacrificial link

of this demonic disharmony

Release hold of my blood

Bees conquer and it ain’t even Spring!

Fortitude solidifies the temple

When blood bleeds,

Fear dissipates

Majestic thrones

Invisibly crown

The weakened one, now strong…

And bring her back home.

 

 

 

(*A special thanks to apronsandappetites)

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, Children, Contemplation, health, Life Perspective, mental health, Poetry and stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When Blood Bleeds

  1. mommywritervkent says:

    So wonderfully constructed. I love this! Thank you for writing it.

  2. whenquiet says:

    Thanks so much mommywritervkent!

  3. Love your metaphors: ” . . . wolves clothed as lambs/pretend to be nice . . .” I can so relate to many of these lines. Great poetry–I hope it was somewhat healing to write it.

  4. whenquiet says:

    Thanks thepetalpusher
    Yes……Absolutely positively healing and therapeutic…Seems the words were just finished, and I witnessed an astonishing 100% turn-around-
    Intense prayer, faith and verbalizing what must happen is powerful! God always carries me through!! And I must drop a note to apronsandappetites…..She inspired this poem.

  5. This is, of course, great. Just a perfect name for such a perfect poem. I love it and printed it off to put in my office. Have a great day!

  6. whenquiet says:

    muchas gracias apronsandappetites….just returned from madrid….that is another story in itself:-) have a wonderful sunday!

  7. whenquiet says:

    Thanks jamborobyn…I must get in touch with you…Until then please check out BWIE website..www.blackwomenineurope.org

Leave a Reply

