Dear Aunt Joan, Dear Aunt Joan

All the times you calmed me via telephone with your

words in the spirit

I thank you…………

They have opened your temple at least three times in one week….

If you must leave us now,

Know that I will remember and hold onto the singing cadence of your voice,

and to your words that inspired me to reflect on my life…

and to your question, “God is calling, are you listening?”

Dear Aunt Joan

Dear Aunt Joan

If I could have you here for a day

I would drive you to Mariastein in Switzerland

If I had to, I would carry you down the steps into the “Grotte”

Where legend has it, a small boy fell down from a precipice into the arms of an angel and thereupon, his life was spared.

You would immediately sense the peace of God’s Holy Spirit.

The heat would warm your aching bones.

If I could have you here,

I would drive you to the Sisters(Nuns) at Hohrodberg in France

You could enter the sanctuary and commune with the Almighty!

Later we would feast on a lunch with the nuns in complete silence

A ritual the nuns practice so that they can hear when God speaks.

We would enter into my garden

I would show you the grapevine planted in honor of your Dad, my Pappy Harry,

I would  show you the “sweet bubby” bush planted in honor of your Mom, my Mama Mill,

You would see the owl sculpture in honor of your sister, my Aunt Donna,

And the painting your sister, Sylv, my Mom,  drew on our driveway entrance of the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

You would see the wooden chair I placed at the top of the hill behind our home, near the nature route… a place where I sit in the summer and commune with God…. a chair placed so that others who pass may choose to stop, sit, and reflect on God’s magnificence and grace.

Then I would take you in the house and rub your aching bones with warm Apulian olive oil

A way to say thank you for praying over my pain ridden knees as a child..no, I didn’t forget.

Then I would kneel at your wheelchair, take your hands in mine

And together we would pray and give thanks to God

for our connection over the years.

We would pray for the healing of the world

We would rejoice about all the challenges that God has pulled us through,

And we would offer a special thanks

that God enables other nieces and aunts to remain connected in spite of the

distance that separates.

God bless you and keep you.

Love,

Anna

Rate this:

i
Rate This

Quantcast

Share this:

Like this:

One blogger likes this.
  • Trinity River

About whenquiet

A child of God, embracing the light and sharing it with others, relishing in this journalistic journey while making paninis, singing, smiling at folk,  and taking photos…

2 Responses to Dear Aunt Joan

  1. whenquiet says:

    Thank you Trinity:-)

  2. This is a beautiful ode to your aunt.  So tender and eloquent.  I’m happy to have read this and only wish I’d now known her as she was clearly someone you’d want to walk through life with.  Beautiful.

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, International Travel, Life Perspective, mental health, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

