To My Only Child

My daughter's kitten

To my Only Child (c)

I remember when you were only a child,
I penned a poem to you
explained how life might sometimes be harsh
and cold, unfair and cruel
This poem on paper somehow disappeared
but my beautiful one
the truth of it remains
Now, a test of life sharpens your wings
as you fly over the game.
Understand that your Mama is not built to crawl
cower, stoop, shuffle, or run
The women in my life never did those things
And you and I are like them, Hun’,
God Almighty instills within us grace,
Holy Spirit surrounds us with peace
And Jesus teaches us with authority to speak
When injustice releases its stink
We are far more powerful when we step up
for what is right.
Mama Mill, Mama, Donna and many others
showed me how to fight!

So, don’t allow fear to make you afraid for me
I will never back down
In the morning, I still hear the birds sing
And navigate around this town.

Remember,
wherever you go, wherever you roam,
Respect embraces you like a cloak
Wear it well,
Maybe it will rub off on some of these unenlightened folk…

I love you dear..

Good night
Your Mama is back. …..

Anna Greene Dell’Era (c)
About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, african american poetry, african american women, black history, black voices, Contemplation, Cultural Pride, faith, health, indigenous women, International Travel, Life Perspective, mental health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

