And, this is my America.

I saw the video concerning the confrontation between the Covington Students and the Elder Native American, Mr. Nathan Phillips on Twitter. I was saddened, angry, and felt I must respond. Last night, I viewed the uploaded video which included the Black Israelites, verbally addressing their agenda about the state of affairs of the world.  Within this video, I was able to view the truth of what my America has become.

A tree, roots embedded within the Earth…roots nourished on bloodshed of our forefathers and foremothers, fear, broken hearts, deceit, corruption, displacement, failed financial ventures, homelessness, poverty, disruption of plans, deceit, misunderstandings, racial injustice, oppression, privilege, guilt, ignorance, truth…Roots, from the same tree, evolving, tangled, continuing to adapt, attempting to live…and now, the tree’s branches extend to the sky… to the heavens, screaming….Help….. Within this chasm of controversy and chaos, the branches understand that each need the other….It is only possible to evolve with love….The courageous Native American, Mr. Nathan Phillips,  dissipates the impending doom. And this is my America.

About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite bohemian, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in black voices, Contemplation, faith, Life Perspective, mental health, Poetry and stories, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment