Greene Onion

Speaking my truth, creatively, reminds me of an onion. Removal of the thin outer layer is necessary to arrive at the juice. In honor of Black History Month, I offer two snippets of my Greene Onion….Humble salutes to Sojourner Truth, African American abolitionist and social activist – Speech- – Ain’t I A Woman- is as timely today as in the year 1800. Langston Hughes, African American Renaissance poet – Poem- Mother to Son – “‘An artist must be able to choose what he does, but he must also not be afraid to do what he might choose.'” LH 3 Because of security reasons, my monologues are unable to upload…Alas, I leave you with the written word..

Sojourner Truth -A snippet from Ain’t I A Woman Speech-

“‘Seems between the black people of the South and the White women of the North, the white man is gonna find himself in a fix pretty soon.

This man here says women shouldn’t be given the place everywhere…well, ain’t nobody ever helped me over no ditch, or helped me into a carriage, or helped me over a muddy puddle…and ain’t I a woman?

Look at me! Look at my arms..I have ploughed and gathered into barns, more than any man…and take the lash as well, and ain’t I a woman?

I done born 13 chillen’ and had ’em all sold off into slavery and when I cried out with a Mother’s grief, ain’t none but Jesus heard me..and ain’t I a woman?

This man over deah…he says women shouldn’t be given the same rights as men, ‘cos Christ won’t a woman…Well, where did your Christ come from? From God and a woman…Man ain’t had nothin’ to do wit it!!

I just think that if the first woman God made was able to turn the world right side up, these women gathered here today oughtta to be able to turn it right side up again…I’m ‘bliged for y’all hearing on me….my name is Sojourner Truth and I ain’t got nothin’ more to say.'”

Langston Hughes – Mother to Son

Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair

It’s had tacks in it and splinters and boards all tored up

And places with no carpet on the floor….bare

But all the time I’sa goin’ on, and reachin’ landins’

and turnin’ corners, and going sometimes in the dark

where they ain’t been no light

So chil’, don’t you sit down on dem stairs ‘cuz

you find it’s kinda hard…don’t you fall…

‘cuz I’sa still goin’

I’sa still climbin’

And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.'”



About whenquiet

A child of God, opinionated, survivor, eloquent, elegant, exquisite bohemian, and humble, loving life and shining light to those who are in the shadow.
This entry was posted in African American History, african american poetry, african american women, black history, black voices, Contemplation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment